QuickLink:
Ghibli Tavern - Studio Ghibli Animation Cels?
Home Register Frequently Asked Questions Search Members List Moderators and Administrators
Ghibli Tavern » - Anime » Ghibli Discussions » Studio Ghibli Animation Cels? » Hello Guest [register|login]
« Previous Thread | Next Thread » Print Page | Recommend to Friend | Add Thread to Favorites
Post New Thread Post Reply
Author
Susuwatari

Registration Date: 10.13.20
  Studio Ghibli Animation Cels?Post Reply with Quote Edit/Delete Post Search for Posts by thisredtea Report Post to a Moderator        IP Address Go to the top of this page

Hi all - I'm just getting into collecting animation cels and have some questions about Ghibli ones.

To my understanding (and please correct me if I'm wrong), there are two types - the silk-screen printed ones and the hand-painted ones. The silk-screen ones are out of 300, while the hand-painted ones are out of 100. Were they both sold at the Ghibli Museum? Were the originals used in the movies ever released?

So far, I've mainly seen them pop up on eBay or Japanese auction sites where it's more difficult to contact the seller to get more information on the items. Does anyone know a reputable seller/collector/site I can purchase from? Or tips to see if they are genuine?

If anyone here happens to be selling them as well, please let me know Any other information on the Ghibli cels or cel collecting in general is greatly appreciated! Thanks so much.

10.13.2020, 11:19 AM thisredtea is offline   Profile for thisredtea Add thisredtea to your buddy list
arren18
Administrator

Registration Date: 08.15.06
  Post Reply with Quote Edit/Delete Post Search for Posts by arren18 Report Post to a Moderator        IP Address Go to the top of this page

I'm afraid I don't know much about this at all. But you mention the two types (silk screen and hand-painted) with numbers. Do you know where that information came from? If so I might be able to do a bit of sleuthing.